Skip to content


You can a call us on our Advice Line which is Free Phone 0808 278 7896

The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation.

Under the Equality Act, there are nine protected characteristics. If you click on the list below it will link to the Equality and Human Rights Commission website with details about what the Equality Act says about each characteristic :

Under the Equality Act you are protected from discrimination:

  • when you are in the workplace
  • when you use public services like healthcare (for example, visiting your doctor or local hospital) or education (for example, at your school or college)
  • when you use businesses and other organisations that provide services and goods (like shops, restaurants, and cinemas)
  • when you use transport
  • when you join a club or association (for example, your local tennis club)
  • when you have contact with public bodies like your local council or government departments like the DWP.

KCALC has funding, including a Legal Aid contract, to advise and represent people who have been discriminated against by DWP.

Further Information

If you feel you have suffered discrimination these links may be useful:



Was this page helpful?